"From the first time I saw them together I knew it felt wrong. I didn't like the way he touched her or the self-conscious way he played with Molly and Luke. Joanne saw none of it of course. So I did it to prove to her that she was wrong. I did it for us."


Emily's instincts tell her that best friend Joanne's new boyfriend is bad news. Emily fears for Joanne. Fears for Joanne's children. But Joanne won't listen because she's in love. So Emily watches, and waits . . . and then she makes a choice.


But Emily has a past, and secrets too. And is she really as good a friend to Joanne as she claims?

A chilling standalone psychological thriller from the author of the

critically acclaimed DC Gary Goodhew series set in Cambridge.


Some hide the truth.  Some hide from it.

Goodhew hunts it through every page.

DC Gary Goodhew is intelligent, intuitive and the youngest detective at Cambridge’s Parkside Station. He is the first on the scene when the body of a young woman is discovered on Midsummer Common and for the first time in his career is given the chance to work on a murder investigation.

   Goodhew knows someone is lying. Then there is another brutal murder and Goodhew knows it is time to use his own initiative to flush out the killer, even though it means risking his job and discovering the truth about the one person he hopes will be innocent.

  • ISBN-10: 1849012644

  • ISBN-13: 978-1849012645


​She wouldn’t give up… 

She wouldn’t die like this. 

The icy rain sprayed across the lake in shards of sharp splinters. Kaye’s skin smarted and dribbles of water slid inside her clothes. She was gagged and bound. And the only person who knew where to find her wasn’t coming back…

    Fifty miles away in Cambridge town centre a deeply disturbed young woman is standing by a payphone. She knows she often feels compelled to do harmful things and is driven by a desire to make a call.

    DC Gary Goodhew is one of the detectives assigned to find Kaye and when her body is discovered the only clue to the potential murderer is a woman’s voice on his answerphone saying, ‘Kaye isn’t the first and won’t be the last…’

  • ISBN-10: 1780333838

  • ISBN-13: 978-1780333830


They thought the past was behind them.

But it was always somewhere ahead… waiting.

All it took was one small item on the regional news for Kimberly Guyver and Rachel Golinski to know that their old life was catching up with them. They wondered how they’d been naïve enough to think it wouldn’t. They hoped they still had a chance to leave it behind – just one more time – but within hours, Rachel’s home is burning and Kimberly’s young son, Riley, is missing.

   Riley’s life is in peril, Goodhew needs Kimberly to make choices, but she has to understand, the one thing she cannot afford is another mistake.

  • ISBN-10: 1849016070

  • ISBN-13: 978-1849016070


Illness, depression, accident, suicide.

What if they are connected?

What if it isn’t over yet?

Charlotte Stone’s terminally ill mother dies and then, within weeks, two of her teenage friends commit suicide. With her home life disintegrating and both her father and brother racing towards self-destruction Charlotte realises that her own personal nightmare may not be over yet.

    When DC Gary Goodhew finds the body of another suicide victim he is forced to recall some deeply buried memories of an earlier death; memories which lead him to Charlotte Stone and the events in her life.

    And the realisation that someone else is going to die.

ISBN-10: 1472101944

ISBN-13: 978-1472101945


A fresh start in a place you hate.

Even tougher with a killer watching…

Jane Osborne left Cambridge and vowed she’d never return. An unexpected twist of fortune results in DC Goodhew bringing her back to the remnants of her old life and a confrontation with the man who killed her sister.

    Meanwhile a burning car on the outskirts of Cambridge leads to the discovery of the body of its owner, Paul Marshall.

    There seems nothing to connect it to either a recent assault, or to Jane Osborne, until a shocking discovery rips Goodhew’s investigation apart.

ISBN-10: 1472102134

ISBN-13: 978-1472102133


The promise seemed simple. The scars would last a lifetime.

After the tragic end to a previous case, DC Gary Goodhew finds himself questioning his reasons for returning to work until the badly beaten body of a homeless man is found on Market Hill. Having known the homeless man for several years Goodhew feels compelled to be part of the investigation - but routine lines of enquiry soon take a dark and unexpected turn...

    Suddenly the Cambridge back streets hold deadly secrets for Goodhew and the only person who has the answers is planning one final, desperate act.

  • ISBN-10: 147211227X

  • ISBN-13: 978-1472112279


A cold case waits to be solved . . . and a killer waits in the wings.

Amy was seven years old when her father was arrested for murder. His subsequent trial and conviction scarred her childhood and cast a shadow over her life until, twenty-two years later, new evidence suggests he was innocent and Amy sets out to clear his name.

    Amy is not the only person troubled by the past. DC Gary Goodhew is haunted by the day his grandfather was murdered and is still searching for answers, determined to uncover the truth about his grandfather's death and find his killer.

    But, right now, someone is about to die. Someone who has secrets and who once kept quiet but is now living on borrowed time. Someone who will be murdered because disturbing the past has woken a killer.

  • ISBN-10: 1472119657

  • ISBN-13: 978-1472119650

All available as hardback, paperback, eBook and audiobook.


  • Alison's Facebook page
  • Find Alison on Twitter

© 2018 by DIAL M.

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now